Pick. It. UP!

Dear teenagers and husbands, is there a deficiency that wives and mothers are not privy to? Something that says “I used this washrag, now I must leave it here on the counter for days and days until somebody else moves it”

w

t

f

Same goes for “Whoa, looks like my trash missed the trash can and landed on the floor. It should stay there until somebody else picks it up” and “I used these dishes but am in no way obligated to also clean them, that is clearly someone else’s job to do”.

Tupperware: I go to work. My stepdaughter attends college classes TWO measly days out of the week. We have tupperware of all shapes and sizes. Specific foods require certain dishes. Where is the one that I need? It wasn’t in the pantry. It wasn’t in the sink. Did it develop legs and go for a walk?

Stepdaughter, who just came in from a day at school: “uh, it’s in my car? I had to use it for lunch?” You should have read that in a snotty manner.

Me: “So, although you used it, and are now done using it, and just now came in from your vehicle, why did it not make the trip with you into the house? When I need dishes, I tend to look in the pantry, but by all means, I’ll start checking your car” “So, while you are standing there staring at me like I’m a 3-eyed unicorn caterpillar, could you find it in your busy schedule to run ALLLLL the way back out to your car to get it.. and wash it.. because I’d like to use it for my lunch tomorrow????”

It’s been 2 weeks, have I seen that dish?

Pure laziness! Just because I am the only one in the household with a sense of cleanliness and responsibility, there are 2 other adults residing within. Can anybody please explain to me what I must have missed in home ec. class? Kids and spouses get free passes or something? Moms must, by law, clean everything, cook everything (I actually do enjoy cooking but it’d be great if I didn’t also have to: )sweep everything, put everything into it’s rightful place, pick up the trash that she didn’t drop, clean the crumbs off the counter from the food she didn’t make. Also, while going to work full time. Keeping track of due dates to make sure each bill gets paid every month. Carry the jacket to the closet that the wearer of thought added to the decor of the sofa. The empty bottles of shampoo left behind in the shower so long that they get that ring of muck around the base…. Nobody notices the toothpaste splatters on the bathroom mirror. The dog hair blowing around the floor like a tumbleweed.

Wives and mothers have long been given the taboo of ‘bitch’ or ‘crazy’, ‘snappy’, ‘nagging’. Does this article explain w h y that may be?! We don’t aim for it! We don’t wake up and smile and think ‘d’aww, look at that snot rag laying on the floor, my hopes and joys and dreams can only be fulfilled by stopping everything I’m doing to pick that up’

It’s lazy. It’s outright disrespectful. I don’t know why anybody has children! I raised 2 stepkids.. you hear that? TWO that weren’t even mine. I never wanted kids but I willingly put  myself through hell for the sake of marriage. One has since moved out. The other? oh dear baby Jesus in Heaven, her luggage can’t be packed soon enough! I’ve mom’d for 16 years, people! I’ve had it. Done………….. But, she’s the baby of the family and has always been spoiled like the baby she is and has no grasp of reality or responsibility. Thanks, hubby and in-laws, tough love just wasn’t in their vocabulary. Hence, why we don’t make baby Huey lift a finger. Hence, why I’ve still never seen that damn tupperware bowl. I paid for it, but evidently we can call dibs on them. I wasn’t aware.

Image result for baby huey

I have established the post-it awareness program. That’s totally made up…by me. See, I buy things that I’d like to snack on later that week or so. Things I look forward to chowing down on when I get home from a long day of work. Things that apparently my stepdaughter believes were specially purchased for HER. So things I did not get to chow down. #livid So, post-its were introduced to random items in the fridge and cabinets. Pathetic, yes. Necessary, also yes. I mean, if they can claim dishes, why can’t I claim food!?

I thought this program had everyone well-trained, so I backed off. No sooner did the labels stop, than so did the joy of my delicious rewards 😦 Labels are back in business!

#donttouchmyshit #donthavekids #eatbirthcontrollikeitscandy #toughlove #respectyourparents

#getOUT

 

 

Leave a Reply

