Another Day in Paradise

 

I understand most of humanity despises their jobs. But I’m going to rant anyways!

Working for a multi-million dollar business, you’d expect a company could and would take care of their employees. But when you literally tear up while driving into work after almost 5 years of being there, it hits you…….

I started here the days the doors opened (well, 2 days later, had another job where I was finishing out my 2 weeks). Like any fresh, new biz, sometimes you have to commit a little more of yourself for the sake of their success (5 years later, I’d realize it was never for the sake of mine). But in the back of your mind, this is the ideal industry to get your foot in the door with. Brand new, show them what you’re made of and you’ll move right along that ladder.

Working 11 days back to back, 6pm-2am shift on Friday, 9am-5pm shift on Saturday? Heck yah, I got this. Scattered schedules, no days off, missing family functions, but the rewards will surely be worth the sacrifice, right? ………..   Right?!

After about the 2 year mark, I secured a 9-5 shift, Tuesday through Saturday. And I was fine with that, but I had my eyes set on a Monday through Friday. Asked a million times if that would be feasible. Never was. Over the course of turnover (employees quitting and new hires replacing), I finally achieved ‘seniority’ status. In my mind, not to them. I was given the responsibility, I was given the trust, was never given a raise but …. again, show them what you’re capable of and the rewards will outweigh the woes.

After about another year and a 1/2, a co-worker who had only been there maybe a year was handed a 9-5 shift (?!?, well that seems less than just but do your thang, boss!)

AND

Monday – Friday………….

ah, haaaaaaaaaaaaale nah!

My level of professionalism took a nose dive into pro’ghettoism. Time for change? Yep.

So a position was created, that had only been a rumor for 3 years at that point. Aim, shoot, score! Don’t get me wrong, I had been propositioned for other jobs here (showed them what I was capable of, earned their trust, but….$$$ talks) (and it was rather quiet..)

So, the Director had talked to me about this position coming up, explained what the pay range would be, which was acceptable. Mind you, not at all great, but being a new position and new for me, it was acceptable. Position is open, I didn’t even have to really “interview” for it which was a slight pat on the back. Then boss says what it will pay……

ah haaaale nah

He was under-offering what he already told me it would pay. I knew how he was, bottom lines are more important than a good staff, or in Layman’s terms, he was cheap. I said absolutely not. Knowing how this company is with giving wage increases (the fact that they supposedly don’t) there is no way I can walk into this position, with the promise of loads more responsibility and duties and being comfortable with the fact that what I walk into it making, is what I will likely be making 5 years down the road. Oh yah, and that it’s thousands below what was offered as starting pay.

Long story even longer, we haggled, and while I still did not get what I wanted, I got the number up.

Plus, for the first time in the history of ever, I was  (drumroll……) a salaried employee! I finally felt like a big girl (go me, high five) (sidestep- I changed the color of the font and can’t get it back to the original, sorry..) Of course, with salary, comes ‘obligations’. The theory that “you’re always on the clock” so you may have to stay a few minutes past 5, or work a Saturday. 

Here my mind goes, right back to the journey for the reward! So, I commit. I work events that entail evenings and weekends. I had to shorten my visit with my new baby niece to run off to work a Saturday event, outside of my normal business hours but hey, eventually this will get me somewhere, right?… Right?!

Fast forwarding past the mundane details (like why certain Managers didn’t complete their reports correctly or why certain Managers aren’t at work yet… which all I hear is why are we paying them to be Managers if they clearly can’t do their jobs!), let’s take a trip to the new overtime pay policy, established in December of 2016 by our admirable government. The one that says something to the effect of if your position requires so much overtime to be worked, your salary shall be no less than $47,500. Pvvff, that was WaaAAaayyyyyy more than what any of us were making. Well, managers, supervisors, administrative roles (<- me).. So just what will this cheap ass company do now.. hmmm

The answer: Knock myself, and the 2 “coordinator” positions back to hourly status, so as not to have to pay us $47K, but those managers who can’t do their reports right (after 4 years of doing them) and work, on a good day, 10-ish to 3:30-ish (not a full 8 hours, let alone “overtime”) get more money (for doing absolutely nothing more).

With salary, went our vacation time. Now, to get a day off, we have to work a month to earn enough hours for 1 day. Vacations? Who needs vacation, clearly your employer values your hard work so much to the point you can never leave…

And these are the rewards that I, and others, have worked nearly 5 years to get. Welcome back to square one, we hope you enjoy your stay. Thank you for dedicating 40 full hours, sometimes more thanks to pointless bantered meetings, while the salaried team comes and goes at their discretion. While one is on the phone for an hour of her shift planning her wedding, or coming in at 11 because she had an oil change. While the other purposely plans his schedule to avoid working over 40 hours, because why bother when you were handed a raise for being half ass already. While another only works “so many hours”, because the boss sees him here 10 hours a day not knowing the first 2 are often spent paying bills online and keeping us updated on the giraffe baby status..

Right?….. WRONG!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

